What is NAATI and Why Should I Have My Documents Translated By a NAATI Accredited Translator?


The National Accreditation Authority for Translators and Interpreters (NAATI) is the accreditation body for translators and interpreters in Australia and sets the national standards for issuance of accreditation. NAATI is the only body authorised to issue accreditation for translators and interpreters who wish to work as professional language practitioners in Australia.

NAATI is owned jointly by the Commonwealth, State and Territory Governments and has a board of five directors who govern its operations. NAATI provides services through its offices which are in every State and Territory in Australia and in New Zealand, with the national office being based in Canberra.

Types of Accrediation

There are various levels of accreditation. The most common level of accreditation is that of a Professional Translator. A professional translator has competence for professional translating and has the minimum level of competence required to work in settings including banking, law, health, and social and community services. Translators who hold this accreditation can work across a wide range of subjects involving documents with specialised content.

  • Advanced Translator (Senior) (formerly known as Level 5)
  • Advanced Translator (formerly known as Level 4)
  • Professional Translator (formerly known as Level 3)
  • Paraprofessional Translator (formerly known as Level 2)
  • Recognition (credential awarded where accreditation is not available in that language)

Why should my documents be translated by a NAATI accredited translator?

If you require your personal documents which have been issued overseas, in a foreign country to be translated into English for submission to the Australian Government, statutory authorities or tertiary institutions, there is a requirement for these translations to be carried out by a NAATI accredited translator. These bodies will not accept translations which have not been carried out by a NAATI accredited translator.

Typical foreign-issued personal documents that require NAATI accredited translations into English are Birth Certificates, Marriage Certificates, Death Certificates, Police Checks, Drivers Licenses, Identification Cards, University Degrees, Divorce Certificates, School Diplomas, Passports and Police Reports.

A NAATI accredited translator should stamp the document with their NAATI issued stamp and sign the document which certifies that they have translated the document. A translator may also add a certification statement on the document which certifies that the translation is a true and accurate reflection of the source document to the best of their abilities. It should be noted that a stamp on the document is not a legal necessity to prove that the translation has been carried out by an accredited translator (albeit, a well recognised and convenient way of identifying an official certified translation).  A translator must only identify his or her NAATI number on the document and sign the document to prove that the translation has been carried out by an accredited translator.

June 5th, 2012|